Winners & Results 2016

You are here: Home » Events & Dining » Great Train Race » Winners & Results 2016

Full race results and Runner Certificates now available

2016 GTR logo Thanks to all the 2,737 runners who took part in the 35th Great Train Race. 

The full 2016 results in Finishing Order and Alphabetical Order.  

You can view your own result and download your runner certificate from the Great Train Race website. Your Result & Certificate

Would you like to see how you went compared to previous Great Train Race's? Click here to log in!

Winners of the 2016 Puffing Billy Great Train Race with train driver Dave

Great Train Race Female Winner Tarli Bird and Male Winner Craig Appleby with Puffing Billy Race Train Driver Dave. 
Photo by Karen Gunn


Category Bib # Time Name Suburb
First Male 3724 43:37 Craig Appleby Cockatoo
Second Male 4229 44:04 Nick Earl Maribyrnong
Third Male 5133 44:31 Nathan Hartigan Alfredton
First Female 1137 49:01 Tarli Bird Echuca
Second Female 1298 52:07 Rebecca Rosel Lilydale
Third Female 1107 52:08 Sarah McKay Kew
First Race Train 3000 56:20    
Second Race Train 1000 79:08    
Under 18 Male 3978 52:32 Fergus Orr Princes Hill
Under 18 Female 1400 55:30 Olivia Weston Menzies Creek
Veteran Male 3863 49:49 Joshua Goldstat Brighton
Veteran Female 2064 52:47 Kate Seibold St Kilda
Winning Team    194:23  AFL Boundary Umps  
  4033 44:35 Michael Marantelli Southbank
  3920 48:37 Ian Burrows Elwood
  4034 50:00 Shane Thiele South Yarra
  4559 51:11 Graham Bergroth Belgrave
Runners on Day   2,737 (Excludes race trains) 
Runners Beating 1st Train Total 189  
  Males 175  
  Females 14  
Runners Beating 2nd Train Total 2057  
  Males 1538  
  Females 519  

These Official Results are calculated using the "Net Time" (the time from when you crossed the start line to when you crossed the finish line). Runners "Gun Time" (the time from when the actual Race clock began) will also be available in each 'Runners Certificate'.